--- title: "Assign Global Permissions" slug: "change-global-permissions" updated: 2025-08-01T07:45:11Z published: 2025-08-01T07:45:11Z canonical: "docs.mapp.com/change-global-permissions" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.mapp.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Assign Global Permissions ## Goal​ To change the global permissions granted to a system, contact or guest role in Engage. ## Prerequisites​ - The role you wish to change is ranked lower than your own. - Your system role is granted the permission ​113: System Administration: Change the permissions of lower system roles​. ## Background Information​ Global permissions define access to system-wide functions and administrative features. They are assigned to system roles, and to a limited extent, to contact and guest roles. System users can access a wide range of platform features. Contact and guest roles are restricted to managing their own accounts and cannot access the Engage interface. ## Procedure ### System Roles 1. In the **​**Main Navigation​, click ​*User Management​ > ​Permissions >* **​** *System​-wide* . 2. From the **​System Role​** drop-down list, select the system role for which the permissions should be changed. ⇒ The window shows the global permissions available to the selected system role. The permissions selected in the ​Granted​ column are already held by this role. > [!TIP] > Use the **​Category​** drop-down list to limit the number of permissions displayed by type. 3. Select a check box in the **​Granted​** column to grant additional permissions. 4. Deselect a check box in the **​Granted​** column to remove permissions. 5. Click the **​Save​** button. ⇒ Changes to the selected system role are saved. All user accounts that are assigned this system role have these global permissions. ### Contact and Guest Roles 1. In the **​**Main Navigation​, click ​*User Management​* *​ > ​Permissions​ > ​Contact & Guest* ​. 2. From the **​Role​** drop-down list, select the role for which the permissions should be changed. ⇒ The window shows the global permissions available to the selected role. The permissions selected in the **​Granted​** column are already held by this role. > [!TIP] > Use the **​Category​** drop-down list to limit the number of permissions displayed by type. 3. Select a check box in the **​Granted​** column to grant additional permissions. 4. Deselect a check box in the **​Granted​** column to remove permissions. 5. Click the **​Save​** button. ⇒ Changes to the selected system role are saved. All user accounts that are assigned this role have these global permissions.