--- title: "Assign Group-Override Permissions via System Role" slug: "change-group-override-permissions" updated: 2025-08-01T07:43:13Z published: 2025-08-01T07:43:13Z canonical: "docs.mapp.com/change-group-override-permissions" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.mapp.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Assign Group-Override Permissions via System Role ## Goal​ To change the group permissions granted to a system role in Engage. These permissions override the group permissions granted to users assigned this system role and apply whether the user is a member of the group or not. ## Background Information​ Group-override permissions assign group-level rights directly to a system role. These permissions apply across all groups – even if the user is not a member of the group – and override both general and group-specific group roles. > **Example** > > A user with the role *Client Administrator* should be able to manage any group in the system. Instead of adding them to each group individually, you can assign override permissions to their system role. ## Prerequisites​ - The system role you wish to change is ranked lower than your own. - Your system role is granted the permission ​119: System Administration: Change the group override permissions of lower system roles​. ## Procedure 1. In the **​**Main Navigation​, click ​ *User Management​ > Permissions* ​ *> Group (Override).* 2. From the **​Group Role​** drop-down list, select the group role for which the permissions should be changed. ⇒ The window shows the group permissions available to the selected group role. The permissions selected in the ​Granted​ column are already held by this role. > [!TIP] > Use the ​**Category** ​ drop-down list to limit the number of permissions displayed by type. 3. Select a check box in the **​Granted​** column to grant additional permissions. 4. Deselect a check box in the **​Granted​** column to remove permissions. 5. Click **​Save​**. ⇒ Changes to the selected system role are saved. All system users who are assigned this group role have these permissions in the groups where they are a member.