--- title: "Assign Group-Specific Permissions" slug: "change-group-specific-permissions" updated: 2025-08-01T07:39:36Z published: 2025-08-01T07:39:36Z canonical: "docs.mapp.com/change-group-specific-permissions" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.mapp.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Assign Group-Specific Permissions ## Goal​ To change the group-specific permissions granted to a group role for a specific group in Engage. These permissions override the general group permissions granted to users assigned this system role. ## Background Information​ Group-specific permissions override the general group permissions for a particular group. Use this option when a role needs additional or restricted rights in one group without affecting other groups. > **Example** > > A user with the role *Manager* is not allowed to remove members by default. However, in the group *Newsletter_DE*, they should manage the recipient list. You can grant this permission specifically for that group – without affecting their rights in any other group. ## Prerequisites​ - The group role you wish to change is ranked lower than your own. - Your group role is granted the permission ​`403: Group Administration: Change the permissions of lower group roles​`. ## Procedure 1. In the **​** Main Navigation​, click ​*User Management​ > Permissions* ​ *> Group (Specific).* 2. From the **​Group Role​** drop-down list, select the group role for which the permissions should be changed. ⇒ The window shows the group permissions available to the selected group role. The permissions selected in the ​Granted​ column are already held by this role. > [!TIP] > Use the ​**Category** ​drop-down list to limit the number of permissions displayed by type. 3. Select a check box in the **​Granted​** column to grant additional permissions. 4. Deselect a check box in the **​Granted​** column to remove permissions. 5. Click **​Save​**. ⇒ Changes to the selected system role are saved. All system users who are assigned this group role have these permissions in the groups where they are a member.