--- title: "Remove Members From All Groups" slug: "remove-members-from-all-groups" updated: 2024-03-06T10:12:17Z published: 2024-03-06T10:12:17Z canonical: "docs.mapp.com/remove-members-from-all-groups" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.mapp.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Remove Members From All Groups This job was previously called: Remove from All Groups. This job removes contacts from all groups in the system. The contacts are selected from the system-wide database with a mandatory selection. Removal from all groups cancels all group memberships in the system. The contact receives no further emails from the system unless he is again added to a group. Address and profile data are not deleted for this contact. Group-specific data (member attributes and group membership statistics) are deleted for this contact. A group owner who is also a member of the group can be removed as a member and still retain ownership of the group. Group managers, deactivated recipients, and members (any status) are all deleted if they are included in the selection. > Removing members does not affect the group statistics, and no confirmation messages are sent. > > As an alternative, you can unsubscribe members from all groups in the system (see [Unsubscribe Members From All Groups​](/v1/docs/unsubscribe-members-from-one-group)). An unsubscribe is recorded in the group statistics. ## Basic Settings​ | **​Name​** | This input field defines the name of the automation. The name is used to identify the automation in the system. It appears on the ​Time-based Automations Overview​ window. The maximum length is 100 characters. | | --- | --- | | **​Description​** | This input field defines a description of the automation. The description makes it easier to identify the automation in the system. | | **​Job​** | This input field defines the job. For a list of all available jobs, see [All Available Time-Based Jobs​](/v1/docs/all-available-time-based-jobs). | ## Define Job​ This area defines the specific parameters of the job. - **Ignore Owners:** These fields define whether a member with the ​Owner​ group role is also removed from the group. This action does not change the system user set as the owner of the group. - **Yes:** A member with the ​Owner​ group role that matches the selection criteria is not removed from the group. Notification is sent to the owner of the automation. - **No:** A member with the ​Owner​ group role that matches the selection criteria is removed from the group. Notification is not sent. ## Define Selection​ - **Selection**: This drop-down list defines a selection. A selection filters contacts according to defined conditions. Use the ![](https://cdn.document360.io/554b9b98-6720-4d8b-9919-c7b203d72648/Images/Documentation/df62d6db-7630-4ad3-857a-3a8c11374191.png) symbol to search all selections in the system. A selection is mandatory for this job. Only the contacts who match the selection criteria are removed. ## Schedule | **Schedule​** | This button saves your changes and opens the ​Schedule Time-based Automation​ window. Here you define the date and time of execution. For more information, see [Schedule Time-Based Automation (window)​](/v1/docs/schedule-time-based-automation-window). | | --- | --- |